Posted on




Long serving Netball administrator Vincentian Gloria Ballantyne was among a list of Caribbean sporting luminaries up for awards in a gala ceremony last week Friday night at the Pegasus Hotel in Jamaica.{{more}}

Despite not getting the heads up, or being formally notified, Ballantyne said to SEARCHLIGHT last week Monday: “I am honoured to be honoured”.

Ballantyne said she was excited to be among some illustrious company.

She further told SEARCHLIGHT that she did not journey to Jamaica, but wished the ceremony well.

The awards were based on accomplishments over the last 60 years between 1948 and 2008, for persons who have made their mark in the various fields of sports.

The event is the brainchild of Jamaican-born, London-based Al Hamilton.

Ballantyne was slotted in the category of Administrators/Coaches, which was won by Austin ‘ Jack” Warner, of Trinidad and Tobago, a FIFA Vice President who wears many hats on the world Football body, and is Head of the Caribbean Football Union and CONCACAF.

That category also included World Netball President Jamaican Molly Rhone, top Athletics administrators Mike Fennell, Teddy McCook, also of Jamaica.

Ballantyne, a former St. Vincent and the Grenadines national player, in 1976 assumed headship of the local Netball Association, a post she held to 1980, but returned in 1982, until she retired in 2004.

Her contribution has not been restricted to Netball. Ballantyne, between 1974 and 1975, and in 1980, was the Treasurer of the then St. Vincent Football Association.

The nation’s First Lady of Sports, Ballantyne had the title of MBE conferred on her in 1998.

Still in the business of administration, Ballantyne is the current Vice President of the National Olympic Committee and the Vice- Chairman of the National Sports Council.

Lindy Delapenha, of Jamaica, was voted top Football sports icon. Two other Jamaicans were among the winners: in Boxing, legend Mike ‘The Body Snatcher’ McCallum, and sprint queen, Veronica Campbell-Brown.

Cuban great, Alberto Juantoreno, who won the 400-800m double at the 1976 Montreal Olympics, won the Male Athletics category ahead of Jamaicans Donald Quarrie and Bert Cameron; Hasley Crawford, of Trinidad and Tobago, and Avard Moncur, of the Bahamas.

Rated as the world’s greatest all rounder, Barbadian Sir Garfield Sobers got the nod over Sir Vivian Richards, of Antigua and Barbuda , Brian Lara, of Trinidad and Tobago, Clive Lloyd, of Guyana, and Jamaicans Michael Holding and Courtney Walsh, in the Cricket category.

Jennifer Frank of Trinidad and Tobago won the Netball category. (RT)