Posted on

Greiggs Most Wanted takes basketball championship

Greiggs Most Wanted takes basketball championship


Greiggs Most Wanted underlined their superiority in the Sprite Marriaqua Sports Association Basketball Championships when they turned the tables on Street Fighters in the League Final last Sunday at the Richland Park Government School Hard Court.{{more}}

In a repeat match of last year’s inaugural championships, the stage was set for another enthralling encounter, and the script was written all over again.

It was 13-10 at the end of the first quarter, in favour of Greiggs, who maintained another marginal lead, 29-26, at the end of the second. The pattern was continued as Greiggs led 47-43 going into the fourth and decisive final quarter.

Decisive it was, as Street Fighters hit a purple patch early in the quarter, and at one point took the lead. But Greiggs, urged on by their vocal fans, and the accuracy of Player of the Final Greg Bascombe, hit their straps and rallied to a 71-58 triumph, bragging rights, $1000 as cash prize and a trophy.

It was a complete contrast from last year’s final, when the players from Greiggs were the weepers. This time they and their supporters were in jubilation at the sound of the final whistle.

Street Fighters, who left the court dejected, earned $600. Third place Sion Hill Pacers pocketed $400.

And, in a rewarding move, the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of each of the six teams received $200 as their prize for their outstanding play. A treat that does not even take place at the national level.

Securing that award for Sion Hill Pacers was Derron Ollivierre, with Nikron Mercury doing so for Street Fighters. Julius Keir was Korean Divine Designs Biabou All Stars’ recipient. The MVP for Richland Park Ballers was Otis Hector; for Greiggs OutKast, Shannon Peters, and Dwight Baptiste was the MVP for Greiggs Most Wanted.

Kenaton Bascombe of Greiggs Most Wanted received the award for the Most Spectacular Play in the competition, a three pointer from down town, with seconds on the clock. Biabou All Stars was adjudged the Most Disciplined Team and the Dressed Dressed Team.

A challenge was thrown out to the MSA, by President of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Basketball Federation(SVGBF), Wayne Williams, who promised sponsorship of a Youth Division , once they can find at least four teams to sign up for competition.

The SVGBF donated the trophy to the Most Disciplined Team.

Also addressing the closing ceremony were Chairman of the National Sports Council Carlton James, Director of Sports and Physical Education Nelson Hillocks and President of the Marriaqua Sports Association Larry Bascombe.

Next year’s competition, is expected to be played on a brand new hard court, as the Marriaqua Sports Association and officials of the Social Investment Fund (SIF) signed a Memorandum of Understanding last Sunday, in which the former will be the recipient of $250 000, towards the construction of the facility. The signing ceremony took place during the half time break of the final. (RT)