Posted on

Six top local cricketers rewarded

Six top local cricketers rewarded


There was a bounty of individual and team awards at the 2007 St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association Presentation and Awards Ceremony last week Friday night at the Methodist Church Hall in Kingstown.{{more}}

The announcement of the Six Cricketers of the Year was one of the main features in the annual exercise.

The six named were wicket keeper/ batsman Lynden James, opening batsman Salvan Browne, fast bowler Dawnley Grant, leg spinner Orlanzo Jackson, middle order batsman Donwell Hector and all rounder Atticus Browne.

James scored one of eight centuries in the RBTT Premier Division and is the Windwards wicket keeper.

Salvan Browne was the leading run scorer in that division, with 440 runs for Police Two, while Grant was named Youth Cricketer of the Year.

And perennial winner of the Best All Rounder award Orlanzo Jackson once again engraved his name on the Zepton Greaves Trophy.

He had the most wickets, 53, and recorded the best average 9.11 runs per wicket. Jackson had two match hauls of ten wickets or more, as his team Rivals copped the Premier Division title.

Hector, the Senior Cricketer of the Year, had the highest individual score in the Premier Division, when he scored 143 against Spartans.

Completing the six was Atticus Browne. The 15-year-old was one of six centurions in the Bottlers First Division.

The Victors Two player recorded the most runs in that division 404. He is the lone player who is not a member of the senior St. Vincent and the Grenadines team.

The evergreen Dawnley Joseph of Spartans had the Best Batting Average in the Premier Divison, 57.17. He scored two centuries.

Kevin Abraham of Victors Two had the most wickets. Also an Under-23 national footballer, Abraham had 29 scalps. Continuing the Victors Two parade, Timothy Warner had the Best Bowling Average, 7.92.

Curtis King, playing for Belmont, recorded the Best Batting Average, 63.25. Harvey Pope of Log Enterprises, the Division One winner, was adjudged the Best All rounder.

Mc Neil Morgan of Packers was the only player in the First Division to take ten wickets or more in a match of the First Division.

The reward for the Umpire of the Year was taken by Selywn Allen. Elvis Charles, for his contribution off the field, accepted the Dr. Kenneth Antrobus Award.

Former national cricketer and a coach in the local Youth Cricket Academy Vibert Bute was the association’s Special Honourary.

The Presentation Ceremony was addressed by President of the SVGCA Julian Jack, Director of Sports Nelson Hillocks, Marketing Manger of Bottlers Limited Brian Perriera and Kevin Weeks of RBTT Bank.

The Featured Speaker was Joel Providence, who addressed the topic, “ Is money changing for the love of the game?”.(RT)