Posted on

Police arrest Stubbs Masters to take Masters Cricket Cup

Police arrest Stubbs Masters to take Masters Cricket Cup


RSVG Police have taken another national cricket title. The latest to be added to their list of titles was the National Masters trophy won last Sunday in exciting fashion at the Grammar School Playing Field.

It was a never say never approach for the lawmen who were staring defeat against an efficient Tropical Shipping Stubbs Masters.{{more}}

Chasing down 144 to win the top prize of $1200 against a spirited Tropical Shipping Stubbs Masters team, Police found the task arduous as they lost wickets steadily. The bowling for the Stubbs team in the main was tidy, setting in moments of panic in the Police camp.

Police needed 45 from the last three overs, but with three wickets in hand.

The 18th over bowled by the experienced Darnley Joseph proved to be the turning point of the match, as he was hit for 17, including two towering sixes and a boundary by Gregory Franklyn. Ellsworth Francis and David Allen then milked the penultimate over bowled by George Byron with both hitting sixes to leave Police needing six runs off the last over.

More drama was added when Hazelwood’s innings of 25 which included three sixes was ended by Joseph who trapped him LBW.

Last man in Sigmond Allen struck his first ball to the wide mid on boundary. Allen scrambled two runs needed with Joseph failing to collect the return that could have seen Francis run out and the match tied.

Police’s foundation was laid by Gosnel Cupid 30 and Sammy Francis 21. Christopher Campbell 2 for23 and Noel Jack 2 for 6, made the early in roads in Police’s batting.

Joseph had led Stubbs’ total of 143 for 7 off 20 overs, with 34. Scaffolding that total were Jack with 30 and Campbell 21.

Leading bowlers for Police were Elvis Browne 3 for 38 and Francis 2 for 19. Browne, who scored a quick fire 15, was named Player of the Final.

Stubbs received $800 for their second place. RSVG Police won both the Premier and First Division of the 2006 national cricket competition.

Police reached last Sunday’s final with a 61 run win over Mr. Cool. Police posted 171 for 7. Allan John made 51 and Sammy Francis 48. Mr Cool were dismissed for 110, as Calvin Glasgow ripped through their batting taking 5 for 15. Also last Saturday, Stubbs got past Kingstown by 57 runs. Joseph cracked 66, to which Kingstown responded with 117 all out. Joseph Medford topscored with 40.

The honours roll saw Theodore Huggins of dethroned champion Belfongo receiving a cash award along with an electric iron for scoring the lone and first century in the competition which had its second edition this year.

Joseph was the leading run scorer in the competition with 244 runs. Campbell captured 15 wickets to be the leading wicket taker. He also copped the prestigious award of Most Valuable Player, for his tally of wickets and his 202 runs. Each team had a player being named its Most Valuable Player, with each collecting a gold medal.

Fifteen teams participated in the competition which had thirteen firms lending financial support, with the National Lotteries Authority the most significant contributor.