Posted on

Who will take Masters Cricket Championship?

Who will take Masters Cricket Championship?


A new champion will be crowned when the final of the Masters Cricket Competition is staged this Sunday afternoon at the Grammar School Playing Field.

This after the defending champion and previously unbeaten Belfongo stumbled when it mattered most.{{more}} Doing the derailing job last Saturday at the Buccament Playing Field were the reinforced Police squad. Belfongo’s potent batting line up could not produce the form that made them look an invincible bunch during the preliminary round of competition.

The inaugural champion of the competition which began last year could only score 98 for 9. Putting the stop to Belfongo’s arsenal were Sigmond Allen 2 for 13, Gregory Franklyn 2 for 17, Sammy Francis 2 for 27 and Elvis Browne 2 for 20. Police who limped into the quarter final stage with just 10 points erased that total reaching 99 for 5. Gosnel Cupid led the way with 35 and Browne supported him with 25. Aaron Bascombe 2 for 23 and Junior Bacchus 2 for 19, but their input was insufficient as the lawmen romped home with five overs to spare.

In what was a nail biting finish, Mr. Cool scrambled home by four runs against North Windward.

Mr. Cool batting first made 131, led by a polished 32 from William Anthony and Kensworth Lewis 23.

Selwyn Lavia 3 for 28, Verden Da Souza 3 for 12 and Lauron Baptiste 3 for 12 restricted Mr. Cool’s efforts.

North Windward were in sight of victory as Brendon Child took charge of the innings with a hard hitting 61, dotted with seven fours and three sixes, but he was seventh out with his team needing eleven runs to take them over the line. But Mr. Cool kept their poise and North Windward folded at 127 with five balls remaining. Byron Lewis 3 for 20 and Fitz-Allan Lewis 2 for 26 were the most successful bowlers for Mr. Cool.

Also advancing to this weekend’s semi finals were Kingstown. They took care of Sion Hill by 31 runs. Kingstown aided by some poor out cricket by Sion Hill posted 157 all out, with extras contributing 41, Brian Alexander 25 and Jeff Trotman 20. Albert Edwards who only bowled five balls bagged 3 wickets for 3 runs. Dave Rodriquez 3 for 16 and Andrew Bramble assisted with 3 for 22.

Sion Hill were bowled out for 126, despite efforts from Montgomery Sealey 25, Edwards 27, Sylvannus Vanloo 19 and Dudley David 18. Their cause was not helped as four batsmen went via the run out route.

But it took a match winning performance by Darnley Joseph who single handedly powered Stubbs into the semi finals. Joseph struck 89 not out to help Stubbs reach 139 for 6 against Ajuba. He then bagged 3 for 18 and with George Byron 4 for 15, restricted Ajuba to 88 all out. Walliston Stapleton 35 and Gemel Jeffery 20 could not stop the Joseph and Byron bowling combination. The other bright spark for Ajuba was Leniff Hector’s 4 for 18, when Stubbs batted.

This weekend’s semi final match up pits Mr. Cool versus Police at Buccament from 2 p.m this Saturday with Kingstown meeting Stubbs at the Grammar School Ground also from 2: p.m. Both winners of the semi finals will advance to Sunday’s grand finale which will be followed by the presentation ceremony.