Posted on

Cell Block lock-down Santos to take championship


Cell Block has been crowned as the 2006 Ruddy’s Electrical North Leeward Football Champions after locking up Santos with a penalty kick.

The tournament, hosted by North Leeward Sports Association (NLSA), ended Sunday December 17 in what one can describe as an excellent finish to a well organized tournament.{{more}}

The final match was a keen contest between Cell Block and Santos. At half time the score was 2 nil in favor of Cell Block, goal scorers Shandel Samuel and Igino Neverson. It appeared as though Cell Block was going to run away with a one sided victory when national player Shandel Samuel converted his second goal early in the second half to put Cell Block 3 nil. Santos found renewed hope when Ashwin Stapleton scored 2 goals and Cavin Charles 1 to equalize and forced the game into extra time. After extra time the scores were locked at 3 all and in the penalty kick Cell Block won 4 goals to 2 to be crowned Ruddy’s Electrical North Leeward Football Champions.

The Most Disciplined Team was named as Beach Front Older Boys, the Most Individual Goals award was presented to Ortis Porter who scored eight goals and the Most Valued Player of the Finals was named as Kelvin Abraham (Central Defender).