Posted on

Belfongo holds on to Masters cricket title

Belfongo holds on to Masters cricket title


Belfongo Masters, the West St George Unit, comprised of players from Belair, Fountain, and Gomea, emerged winners of the first ever Masters 2020 Cricket tournament.

They beat Ajuba Masters by 15 runs in an exciting encounter at Buccament Sunday scoring 132 for 6 from their 20 overs.

A big hitting final over saw 26 runs scored, most of them by Curtis King. Before then, Ajuba might have considered themselves to have done well enough with their restraining action.{{more}}

Ajuba were comfortably placed at 82 for 2 in the 12th over when Samuel Holder struck. Then things fell apart and the last eight wickets went for 35 more runs. Holder returned figures of 4 for 21 from three overs including that of match top scorer and indeed tournament’s leading run getter David Ellis/Porter.

Holder was named man of the match for his exploits. However, Belfongo captain Junior Bacchus attributed the victory to an overall team performance. Bacchus was also among the runs.

He noted the all-round ability of many of the players on his squad.

“Most of the guys who have performed did so with bat and ball,” Bacchus said.

He also cited complacency on the part of the Ajuba Masters.

“We were determined to win,” Bacchus added.

The winning captain expressed confidence in his team’s bowling ability. He referred to a game against P’tani Masters when they restricted that squad to below their target of 111.

The curtains come down on the tournament tomorrow Saturday with a presentation ceremony at First Flight Restaurant at Arnos Vale. At that session, a Masters squad will be named.

Bacchus commended the organisers of the Masters Tournament, for what he termed, excellent demonstration.

Bacchus cited it as “one of the best competitions.”

Belfongo earned $1,000, while Ajuba had to settle for the $800 second spot.

Individual prizes would also be handed to Man of the final, Most runs, Most wickets, and Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

Eleven teams in two Zones took part in the competition.