Posted on

Masters heading for semis stage

Masters heading for semis stage


C.K. Greaves Vintage Arnos Vale Masters secured a five-wicket win over Police Masters as the Masters Cricket Tournament continued last weekend.

Buoyed by an unbeaten 70 by Linton Greaves, Arnos Vale cruised to 158 for 5 from 19 overs, to secure their win. Sigmond Allen, 3 for 30, was the pick of the Police bowlers.{{more}}

Police scored 156 for 6 from their 20 overs, with former Windwards and national player Gosnel Cupid, 92, in blistering form. He got support from Allan John, 27. Richard Todd, 3 for 20, was the chief wicket-taker for Arnos Vale. Linton Greaves, 2 for 39, set the stage for a good all-round performance.

P.H. Veira Kingstown Masters, 81 for 2 from 11.2 overs, made light work of South Leeward.

Bradley Brooker, 36 not out and Colbert Mc Donald, 24, gave Kingstown their victory.

South Leeward batting first were dismissed for 78 from 16.3 overs

Ken Whyttle, 2 for 8, and Ellis Lavia, 2 for 15, were the main bowlers for Kingstown.

Belfongo Masters won by 10 runs over Ptani Masters.

Belfongo scored 111 all out in 20 overs. Adolphus Campbell, 4 for 8, supported by Transport and Works Minister Clayton Burgin, 2 for 26, were among the wickets for Ptani.

Ptani, however were restricted to 91 for 9 from 20 overs.

Wendell Glasgow, 3 for 25, Michael Jack, 2 for 11, and Sylvanus Morgan, 2 for 18, combined to thwart the Ptani chase.

The final group match pits North Windward and Stubbs in the quest for the fourth spot in Zone A.

This match is carded for Calliaqua tomorrow at 1:30 p.m.

The countdown to the championship intensifies also on Saturday when Belfongo Masters take on Barrouallie Masters at Buccament scheduled for 1:30 p.m.

Three matches are scheduled for Sunday. Mr. Cool Masters has to await the result of the North Windward/Stubbs clash to know their opponent. That game is set for 9:30 Sunday morning, to be followed by the Arnos Vale/Ajuba showdown, also at Buccament at 1:30 p.m.

Ptani Masters and Kingstown battle for a semifinal berth at Calliaqua 1:30 p.m.