Posted on

20 selected for 20/20 International cricket match

20 selected for 20/20 International cricket match


With the Stanford 20/20 winner decided, the focus is on the show down with South Africa fixed for November 10. Interest in that contest has sharpened with the incentive of the US$5M winner-take-all prize in full glare. {{more}}

The squad to take on the South Africans is Carlton Baugh Jr., Pedro Collins, Esuan Crandon, Narsingh Deonarine, Merv Dillon, Travis Dowlin, Andre Fletcher, Daren Ganga, Chris Gayle, Dennis George, Wavell Hinds, Rawl Lewis, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Nelon Pascal, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Jerome Taylor and Tonito Willett.

Three young players have been invited to join the training squad. They are Kelbert Walters, Keiron Powell and William Perkins.

The first Stanford 2020 exploded in dramatic style last Sunday night at the Sticky Wicket Ground in Antigua.

There is no Vincentian player in the team; a fact looked at by some locals with some disappointment. The Vincentians did themselves no favours with their early exit from the competition.

They were sent packing by virtue of the Duckworth/Lewis arrangement, thus denying them of a semifinal berth.

The Stanford tournament generated overwhelming regional and international appeal.