Posted on

Race on for honours in TCL Under-19 Cup


The race for the 2005 TCL Group Under-19 Challenge stepped up with yesterday’s completion of the third round. Barbados and Jamaica were in a keen tussle to decide Zone A. Jamaica went into the final day yesterday needing a further 27 runs to make Barbados bat again. {{more}}

They were 79 for 4. Barbados scored 216, in reply to Jamaica’s 110. Andre McCarthy 38 was Jamaica’s top scorer in the first innings.

Jabbari Niles 59, and Jevon Searles 48, were the leading run getters for Barbados.

Alton Beckford 6 for 43, was the pick of the Jamaican bowling.

Trinidad & Tobago, ahead of Guyana by nine runs on first innings, reached 170 for nine in their second innings at Sion Hill.

They dismissed Guyana for 124, after their 133 in the first innings. Kieron Pollard 74, was the pillar of the T&T first innings.

Jason Sripal 5 for 49 was the chief wicket taker for Guyana as T & T reached 170-9 on Wednesday. Marlon Barclay 45 was among the runs for T& T with support from Rishi Bachan 43.

Richard Ramdeen 43 led the scoring with Dane Teelucksingh 6 for 31 wrecking the Guyana batting.

The Windward Islands, ahead of the Leeward Islands, by 114 runs on first innings, reached 121 for five in their second innings at the close.

Windwards scored 261 with good scores from Ronald Etienne 65, Andre Fletcher 64, and Heron Campbell 48. Leewards made 147, Javal Hodge 34.

Leon Johnson, captain of the Guyana team hit an unbeaten double century to propel his team to an emphatic innings and 12 run victory over Barbados.

Johnson’s 200 guided his team to 360 for 8, in reply to Barbados’ first innings 161.

Not even the heroics of all-rounder Shamarh Brooks could prevent the Guyanese triumphant march.

Brooks had knocks of 51 not out, and 53 in the second innings. But no amount of stroke play could match Johnson’s.

With a deficit of 199, Barbados fell for 187.

That was a continuation of a victory role the Guyanese began with a win over Leewards.

Gajanand Singh 46 not out and Leon Johnson 24 took their team to 96 for 3.

That was a come-from-behind seven-wicket win over the Leeward Islands at Sion Hill.

Leewards scored 166 in their first outing, with Jacques Taylor 54 and John Luke 44 being among the runs.

Leeward faltered badly in their second innings and with their dismissal for 56, Guyana then cruised to victory.

Jason Sripal 6 for 26 and Veerasammy Permaul 3 for 9 combined to rout the Leewards.

Guyana made 126 in their first outing with Jason Sripal 40 showing good all-round ability.

Justin Athanaze 6 for 33 was among the wickets in the first innings.

In the second round, Jamaica secured a 39-run victory over the Windward Islands last Sunday.

Set 245 runs to win, Windwards slid to 205 all out.

Jamaica declared at 187 for six.

Windwards’ opener Lauron Francois (21) and number three batsman Andre Fletcher (45) came together after the loss of Heron Campbell (21) at 29. It was 92 when Francois fell.

Windwards went to lunch at 110 for four, then collapsed to 134 for seven.

Donwell Hector, the last man out for 44 made in 130 minutes, and Haniff Alexander (22), displayed resistance.

Hector, the Windwards’ number five, added 30 with Alexander, and 36 with number eleven Nelon Pascal (8), to give his team some face.

Barbadian speedster Jevon Searles 5 for 18 broke the back of the Windwards second innings batting and set up an easy win for his team in the first round. Windwards fell for 95. Barbados with a lead of 85, knocked off the required 11 runs without loss.

Windwards made 129 in the first innings.

Barbados replied with 214, bolstered by Sharmarh Brooks 86, Jonathan Carter 33, and Jevon Searles 33.

Haniff Alexander 6 for 39 and Nelon Pascal 3 for 38 were among the wickets for the Windwards.

Jamaica beat Trinidad & Tobago by 74 runs at Stubbs.

Both teams tied on 75 in the first innings, but Jamaica bowled out the Trinidad and Tobago lads for 121, having declared at 195 for 9. Sunil Narine with a match haul of 14 for 64 rang rings around the Jamaican batting but that was not enough. He had 7 for 18 in the first innings and he maintained his harvest with a haul of 7 for 46 in the second innings.

William Perkins 25 led T & T batting in the first innings, with Alton Beckford 5 for 23 and Andre Russell 3 for 19 being among the wickets. In their victory bid T &T fell for 121. Mario Belcon 20 not out was the only man to offer some resistance. Dennis Bulli 6 for 45 was the main wicket taker for Jamaica in the second innings.

The Zone winners meet August 13 to 16 in a showdown for the Challenge trophy. Second placed Zone teams and third place teams meet August 13 to 15.

The One Day version begins August 17 and the final will be August 19.