Posted on

Lara returns to Windies squad for 2nd test

Lara returns to Windies squad for 2nd test


ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board has appointed Shivnarine Chanderpaul as captain of the West Indies team for the remainder of the Digicel 2005 Home Series, which sees the West Indies being host to South Africa and Pakistan.{{more}}

Chanderpaul leads the team for the Second Test Match in the Digicel Home Series against South Africa, which begins today, April 8, at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.

Convenor of Selectors Michael “Joey” Carew said he and his panel were pleased with the team’s overall performance in the First Test Match and he expected that the “team will go from strength to strength as the series progresses.”

“Coach Bennett King must be one of the happiest men in the Caribbean at present,” Carew said.

“Given the talent that has been on display. He must also be quite optimistic with the Cricket World Cup in mind and even beyond that.”

The team is: Shivnarine Chanderpaul (captain), Courtney Browne (vice captain), Chris Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Brian Lara, Ryan Hinds, Dwayne Bravo, Daren Powell, Pedro Collins, Reon King and Dwight Washington