Posted on

CARICOM Hosts Virtual Conference To Welcome Incoming Chairman

CARICOM Hosts Virtual Conference To Welcome Incoming Chairman


Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) will host a special conference today, Friday, July 3, which will see Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley handing over the reins to incoming chairman, Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves of St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

The Twentieth Special Meeting of CARICOM will be held via video conference throughout the region beginning at 10:00 a.m.

CARICOM Heads decided at their Ninth Special Meeting in April this year to stage the handing-over ceremony at the beginning of July.

The COVID-19 pandemic has forced the Forty-First Regular Meeting of Heads of Government to be rescheduled to September 2 and 3 in St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

During today’s virtual meeting, CARICOM leaders are expected to also address a number of procedural matters.

The handing over segment of the meeting will be Live-streamed on the CARICOM Secretariat’s Face Book page –

Remarks will be delivered by CARICOM Secretary-General Ambassador Irwin LaRocque, and Prime Ministers Mottley and Gonsalves.

The Caribbean Community has 15 Member States – Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Guyana, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago, and five associate members – Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, and the Turks and Caicos Islands.