Posted on

Soroptimist International SVG elects new president

Soroptimist International SVG elects new president
Ikarmola La Borde president of Soroptimist International St Vincent and the Grenadines


Ikarmola La Borde has been elected president of Soroptimist International of St Vincent and the Grenadines at the organization’s 33rd Annual General Meeting on Saturday, April 24, 2020 via Zoom.

Sixteen of the 29 members registered their presence on the meeting platform and they were able to complete the proceedings in under two hours, a release from the organization said.

Reports of the outgoing President Rene Baptiste, Secretary Jose – Ann Small, Programme Action Chairperson Miriam Roache and Treasurer Euna Thompson were all tabled and adopted.

Congratulations were extended to Zelacher Baptiste, the organization’s sponsor scholar on her meritorious performance at the Intermediate High School, Sister Miriam Roache and Sister Christine Da Silva on their recent Awards for Women Development and Entrepreneurship respectfully at the Gender Development’s Award Ceremony, and Dame Susan Dougan on the Award of the GCMG.
Dame Susan Dougan is a Soroptimist and will be inducted as the Club’s Patron as soon as it is convenient to do so, the release said.

The full executive for the 2020 – 2021 term is as follows:

1. Sis Ikarmola La Borde – President
2. Sis Donnette O’Neal – Vice President
3. Sis Josie – Ann Small – Secretary
4. Sis Euna Thompson – Treasurer
5. Sis Miriam Roache – Programme Action Committee Chair Person
6. Sis Christine Da Silva – Communications Officer
7. Sis Keisha Fraser – Membership Officer

New President La Boarde will preside over the First Meeting in May which is generally celebrated as Soroptimist Membership Day.