Posted on

SVG Diaspora Committee of NY elects new executive

SVG Diaspora Committee of NY elects new executive


The SVG Diaspora Committee of New York Inc has begun the year by electing a new executive, which will be led by chair Sherrill-Ann Mason-Haywood.

Mason-Haywood will become the second chairperson of the committee. Maxwell Haywood, who was the founding chairperson, served until his passing in November 2017.

Mason-Haywood, who was elected at the annual general meeting, is joined in the leadership by vice-president – Atiba Williams, general secretary – Philmore Sprott, treasurer – Theophilus Marshall, assistant secretary/treasurer – Francesca Sam, public relations officer – Franklyn “Supadex” Richards, trustees – Garnes Byron, Dawn Dopwell and Terrance Edwards.

The elections were held at the Friends of Crown Heights Educational Center in Brooklyn on Saturday, January 20, 2018.

Chair Mason-Haywood says she looks forward to “an exciting year,” which will see the organization work towards strengthening the organizational structure, forging new partnerships and leveraging old ones to enhance the organization’s programming and building on the legacy of the organization’s founder, Maxwell Haywood, through the newly established Maxwell Haywood Scholarship and Development Fund.

According to Mason-Haywood, the committee will focus on several broad strategic goals for 2018-2019. These include strengthening and consolidating diaspora institutions created by the diaspora committee, membership recruitment and development, branding and improving the organization’s presence on the Internet, increasing public awareness of diaspora and migration issues, creating greater partnerships with other Vincentian organizations for programme delivery, and establishing stronger linkages with non-Vincentian communities in the USA, especially other Caribbean diaspora communities.