Posted on

Government Printery workers recognized for their contribution


Eight longstanding employees of the Government Printery were on Friday, May 20 awarded and recognized for their contribution to the department.

The employees who have served for 30 years or more at the Government Printery each received a plaque from Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves at an appreciation ceremony.{{more}}

The appreciation ceremony, which was hosted by the Prime Minister’s Office and the Government Printery, formed part of a week of activities held to showcase the work of the Government Printery.

Speaking at the ceremony, the Prime Minister said the award of plaques to the “eight titans” is Government’s way of showing appreciation and saying thanks to these employees. He noted that others working at the Printery will be inspired by their efforts and the important contribution that they have made over the years. Gonsalves noted that, despite his busy schedule, he had to be there to congratulate the eight awardees and to let them know that he is appreciative of their work.

The Prime Minister used the occasion to highlight the Printery’s diligent work in getting The Estimates ready to be presented in Parliament before its deadline.

He said the Printery was asked to prepare the document in three days, which at first was challenging for them, but through their diligent work, they were able to meet the deadline and save the Government from breaking the Constitution.

“I really want to say that this year you saved the bacon for us and I want to say thank you. Your role in that was vital and I want to thank you very much,” Gonsalves declared.

The eight awardees are Bertrum Baptiste, Phillip Charles, Errol Commissiong, Brenda Hazell, Aldonio Matthews, Richard Ollivierre, Douglas Rose and Rohan Weekes. Collectively these employees are experienced in composing, dark room, press room and bindery work, production and quality control, store room management, front desk, computer room and Lino type.