Posted on

New SVGTU executive presented

New SVGTU executive presented


The SVG Teachers’ Union has presented its new executive, following two weeks of national elections, which pulled some 815 members to vote earlier this year.

Oswald Robinson, who was re-elected as president of the organization, said that he is pleased with the new executive, and is looking forward to the upcoming two years of his new term.{{more}}

“I am very happy with the mix we have here now…. There are exciting times ahead!” he enthused.

Robinson thanked the SVGTU members for giving him the “awesome” opportunity to lead the union for another term.

“Please, let us work together… We can and must in realizing a brighter future.”

The new executive comprises: first vice-president Vibert Lampkin, second vice-president Kent Caine, treasurer James Wilson, general secretary Paulette Williams, assistant general secretary Sherry Edwards, public relations officer Wendy Bynoe, and committee members Sharon Doyle and Ketty Kydd-Rhynd.

Chair of the SVGTU elections committee Curtis King presented the new executive during the organization’s 19th biennial convention, which took place last Tuesday, April 5, at Frenches House.

National elections for the SVGTU were introduced in the 1990s. The union has an estimated 1,250 members. (JSV)