Posted on

Robinson re-elected SVGTU president

Robinson re-elected SVGTU president


Oswald Robinson was re-elected to the position of president of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Teachers Union (SVGTU) in elections held on February 17 and 18.

Robinson polled 450 votes, defeating Sheldon Govia, who recorded 323 votes.{{more}}

Vibert Lampkin defeated Nekeisha Williams 456 votes to 327 votes to emerge as the first vice-president. Kent Cain retained the second vice-president position. He polled 386 votes to Phillip Jacobs’ 222, Sheddie Conliffe’s 100 and Abdon Whyte’s 80 votes.

Paulette Williams is the new general secretary. She defeated outgoing assistant general secretary Jane Farrell. Williams scored 568 votes to Farrell’s 331.

James Wilson, after an absence of two years from the executive committee, was returned as treasurer. He defeated Vincent Benjamin in a close contest, which saw him recording 376 votes to Benjamin’s 338.

Wendy Bynoe easily defeated her challengers Wade Charles and Maria Abbott to retain the position of public relations officer. Bynoe polled 453 votes, Charles 221 and Abbott 96 votes.

The new assistant secretary treasurer is Sheri Edwards, who had a comfortable victory over Jenene Spring. Edwards secured 471 votes to Spring’s 234 votes.

Sharon Doyle and Ketty Kydd-Rhynd were the two committee members elected; they secured 530 and 419 votes respectively. The other candidate for the position, Dr Anthony Stewart, secured 328 votes.