Posted on

Five newcomers sworn in as Members of Parliament

Five newcomers sworn in as Members of Parliament


Five newcomers were among the 23 persons who were sworn in as Members of Parliament last Tuesday at the House of Assembly.

Among the newcomers on the Government side was St Clair Prince, who made his debut in the House after securing the Marriaqua seat for the Unity Labour Party (ULP). He was joined by newly appointed senators Deborah Charles and Carlos James, both unsuccessful ULP candidates in West Kingstown and North Leeward respectively.{{more}}

James was elected deputy Speaker.

On the Opposition side, the two newcomers are senators Shirlan ‘Zita’ Barnwell and Julian Ferdinand. While Barnwell is a complete newcomer to competitive politics, Ferdinand was the New Democratic Party’s candidate in the West St, George constituency.

The ULP’s returning members were attorney general Judith Jones-Morgan; member for North Central Windward and leader of the House Ralph Gonsalves; member for Central Leeward Louis Straker; member for North Windward Montgomery Daniel; member for South Central Windward Saboto Caesar, member for West St George Cecil McKie and member for South Windward Frederick Stephenson.

Camillo Gonsalves, the member for East St George took the oath for the first time as an elected parliamentary representative, an upgrade from the last sitting of the House, when he was an appointed senator on the Government side.

The Speaker of the House is unsuccessful ULP South Leeward candidate Jomo Thomas, who sat on the Government benches last time around as a senator and was also deputy Speaker.

On the Opposition side of the house, the NDP retained their seven seats.

Member for East Kingstown, Arnhim Eustace; member for the Northern Grenadines, Dr Godwin Friday; member for the Southern Grenadines, Terrence Ollivierre; member for Central Kingstown St Clair Leacock; member for West Kingstown, Daniel Cummings; member for North Leeward, Roland Matthews; and member for South Leeward Nigel Stephenson have all returned as elected members of the House.

“I want to thank 65 706 voters, registered voters who cast their ballot on December 9, 2015,” said Leader of the House Ralph Gonsalves during his congratulatory remarks.

He went on to acknowledge voters of the opposition parties – the NDP, DRP and Green Party, as well as to congratulate all elected members of the House, along with the appointed senators and new Speaker of the House on their positions.