Posted on

Some SVGTU Executive members ignore strike call


Only four of the nine members of the Oswald Robinson led executive of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Teachers Union (SVGTU) took part in Tuesday’s industrial action.

So says prime minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves. Speaking on the ‘Morning Scoop’ programme on Star Radio on Wednesday, Gonsalves said the five members who did not strike are the general secretary, vice president, recording secretary and two other members.{{more}}

“One didn’t go and the other one who is from North Central [Windward] is on leave. And he had indicated to me that he has nothing to do with the strike. So I am emphatically stating that the strike by the teachers was an abysmal failure for the union…”

The executive members of the SVGTU are: Oswald Robinson, president; Vibert Lampkin, treasurer; Kent Caine, 2nd vice president; Wendy Bynoe, public relations officer; Maxford Jones, committee member; Sharon Doyle, committee member; Sheldon Govia, 1st vice president, Jane Farrell, assistant general secretary and Margaret Lewis-Jackson, general secretary.

Gonsalves said even though the union leaders might take a few days to “lick their wounds”, his doors are still open to them.

“I’m not gloating because this is a sad occasion for the union and as a union man myself, that section of the leadership misled the teachers very badly….

“I want simply to say that the doors of the prime minister are open…. After all, the government is the employer and the union membership, by staying away from the call made by their union leaders, by attending school have simply told the union leaders who engineered the strike, just go and talk to the Comrade.”