Posted on

Teachers’ role paramount to development of students – Chief Education Officer

Teachers’ role paramount to development of students – Chief Education Officer


After witnessing positive results from the first implementation phase of the Child Friendly Schools (CFS) initiative, the Ministry of Education is seeking to implement the initiative in more primary schools across the nation.{{more}}

A three-day training workshop, which is funded by UNICEF, was held last week for principals and teachers of 21 primary schools in the country, in an effort to instruct them on how to implement the CFS initiative.

In the pilot phase, teachers from 13 schools received training for CFS to be implemented in their institutions.

In brief welcome remarks at the opening ceremony, focal point and senior education officer Elizabeth Walker expressed hope to participants that they will work hard to ensure that the CFS initiative is successfully implemented at their respective schools.

“The progress made so far in the 13 schools representing in the first phase in the implementation programme was very promising, as we have experienced changes in the classroom environment, improvement in strategies for managing behaviours, improvement in the physical environment of the school and the involvement of parents in the life of the school,” Walker said. “We hope this will give those of us who are here, the impetus to work hard to ensure similar successes at our own schools.”

Chief education officer, Lou-Anne Gilchrist also offered words of encouragement, as she told teachers that they are critical to the development of the nation’s children.

“In the Ministry of Education, we are responsible not only for students’ academic development, but also for their spiritual and social development. We are responsible for teaching them life skills, so that once out of the school environment, which we hope is friendly, they will function as stable, well-adjusted human beings.

I want to remind you that your role as teachers is paramount in the development of children. Do not think of your jobs as being unimportant. You are not just teachers. You are people who mould our young minds,” she said.

Gilchrist also pleaded with teachers to share the information that they will gather in the workshop, when they return to their schools.

“Information is best used when it is shared. Remember that this is a workshop for the training of trainers,” the chief education officer said. “You will go back to your school and spread the evangelization of the Child Friendly Schools initiatives.”

The 21 new schools are Georgetown Government School, Fitz-Hughes Government School, Lowmans Leeward Anglican School, Stephanie Browne Primary School, Barrouallie Government School, Layou Government School, Sandy Bay Government School, Fairhall Government School, Diamond Government School, Lowmans Windward Anglican School, Argyle Primary School, C.W. Prescod Primary School, Kingstown Preparatory School, Sion Hill Government School, Brighton Methodist School, Stubbs Government School, Colonarie Government School, New Ground Primary School, Dixon Methodist School, Pamelus Burke Primary School, Langley Park Government School and South Rivers Methodist School. (BK)