Posted on

Junior Calypso/Soca competition finalists named


The finalists in the Junior Calypso/Soca competition have been announced.{{more}}

In the primary school competition, Aaliyah Nero – Owia Government; Antonio ‘Singing Antonio’ Telemaque – Kingstown Anglican; Jenille ‘Jennie’ Garrick – New Prospect Primary; Deandra ‘Raving King J’ Lavia – Owia Government School; Alieka Baynes – Park Hill Government; Cha-Chano Morgan – New Prospect Primary and Abigail Alexander – Fancy Government will come up against the defending primary schools monarch Kristiana ‘Singing Kristy’ Christopher of the Layou Government School.

In the secondary school category: Derone ‘The Messenger’ May and Iran ‘Soca Rasta’ Pompey of the Sandy Bay Secondary School; Shane ‘Shaney’ Wynne – Bishop’s College; Beverne Simmons of the George Stephens Secondary School; Ottis ‘Flippa’ Cain and Patrick ‘Kool Kid’ De Freitas of the St Vincent Grammar School and Gillian Smart of the St Joseph’s Convent Kingstown will try to dethrone 2011 Monarch Shade ‘Shade’ Barker of the St Joseph’s Convent Kingstown.

The Junior Soca Monarch finalists: Delanzo ‘Lanzo’ Lavia – Owia Government; Omalli ‘Magic Man’ Collins – Greiggs Government; Kurtney ‘The Soca Man’ Pompey – Sandy Bay Government; Giovanni ‘Super D’ Collins – St Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua; Kitzroy ‘Vincy Prince’ Johnson – St Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua – Shane ‘Shaney’ Wynne – Bishop’s College and Kristiana ‘Singing Kristy’ Christopher – Layou Government will come up against defending Monarch Ottis ‘Flippa’ Cain of the St Vincent Grammar School.

Meanwhile, Anthony Dennie, Coordinator of Shows, at the Carnival Development Corporation (CDC), said that based on the success of the caravan of Soca and Calypso artistes who journeyed to various schools across the country, this will be staged again this year.

“The CDC has seen some results. We are now seeing a bigger turnout, so we will be continuing with that this year,” Dennie explained.

He added that this year’s show will be more organized and is expected to be better than the 2011 showing.

The finals will take place on Tuesday, July 3, at the Victoria Park. (DD)