Posted on

Three men vie for SVGTU Presidency


Come next Monday, the members of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Teachers’ Union (SVGTU) will be led by a new Executive, following two days of elections this week, with the final results expected today.{{more}}

In the elections which took place on Wednesday and Thursday this week, three members with presidential experience were vying for the top position, which was held for the past year and a half by Ronald Clarke.

Clarke replaced Elvis Charles in 2010, when Charles stepped down to contest the general elections on a Unity Labour Party ticket in December 2010.

Sheldon Govia, who replaced Joy Matthews as president in 2008, will come up against Clarke, and Oswald Robinson, a former president of two terms.

Four executive positions will go unopposed. Those are incumbent General Secretary Margaret Lewis-Jackson, Assistant General Secretary Farrell, Treasurer James M. Wilson, and First Vice President Ray Laborde.

By later today, members will know if incumbent Public Relations Officer Vibert Lampkin retained his post, after being challenged by Elton Lewis for the position, while the office of Second Vice President will certainly have a new representative, when Hugh Wyllie, Linda Nichols and Vibert Benjamin vie for the position last held by Rawle Caine.

Three members are up for the position of Committee Members, of which two will be elected. They are Gloria Endeavour, Sharon Doyle and Kent Cain.