Posted on

Baptiste, Frederick defeated

Baptiste, Frederick defeated


Doris McIntosh and Ernesto Cooke are the two new faces on the executive of the New Democratic Party (NDP) following elections on Sunday, November 20.{{more}}

The elections were held as part of the evening session of the political party’s annual convention and saw the positions of Chairman, Vice President, Secretary General, Assistant Secretary General, Treasurer and Public Relations Officer being contested.

Mc Intosh was appointed Assistant Secretary General, a post previously held by Senator Anesia Baptiste who contested the position of Chairman, but lost.

Cooke, on the other hand, was elected to the post of Public Relations Officer (PRO) by 171 votes to 100, defeating Senator Vynnette Frederick, who was the incumbent.

Dr. Linton Lewis was re-elected as the party’s Chairman, receiving 132 votes, while his opponents, Daniel Cummings and Senator Anesia Baptiste received 119 and 19 votes respectively.

All the other positions were unopposed. These included President – Arnhim Eustace, Vice Presidents – St. Clair Leacock and Dr. Godwin Friday, General Secretary – Allan Cruickshank and Treasurer – Dr. Bernard Mills.

The Committee members are: Bert Francois, Amos Cruickshank, Maurice Horne and Jimmy Pierre.

Meanwhile, when contacted, the new PRO Ernesto Cooke said, “I have just taken up this position and I have a lot of work to do.”

Among the persons gathered at Sunday’s convention were members of the Diplomatic Corps, who were also seated on the platform just behind the head table.

They included: the Ambassador of the Republic of China (Taiwan) His Excellency Weber V. B. Shih, Venezuelan Ambassador Yoel Perez-Marcano and the Cuban Ambassador to St Vincent and the Grenadines Pablo Antonio Rodriguez.

Party President Arnhim Eustace delivered the feature address.

The convention was held under the theme, “Save our Country: Restore Pride and Dignity.”