Posted on

Committee to plan Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations

Committee to plan Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations


Former Minister of Culture René Baptiste has been appointed to head a high level committee to lead the planning and programme for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Celebrations in St. Vincent and the Grenadines next year.{{more}}

Baptiste’s appointment was made by his Excellency the Governor General, Sir Frederick Ballantyne, G.C.M.G., MD.

Other members of the committee are Susan Dougan, Cabinet Secretary; Sandra Davis, retired Permanent Secretary; Flora Gunn, Hotelier; Louise Mitchell-Joseph, Chairman of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines National Trust; Laura Browne, former Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education; Lou-An Gilchrist, Chief Education Officer; Assistant Commissioner of Police Michael Charles; Commander Dwight Lewis of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cadet Corps, and Nina Maloney of the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme.

The First Meeting of the committee was summoned on Wednesday, September 27, 2011, at Government House. A number of Sub-Committees have been established to take the process forward.

Her Majesty the Queen is the Head of State of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and His Excellency is her Representative in the State, according to the existing Constitution of St. Vincent and the Grenadines. Her Majesty is also the Head of the Commonwealth.

The Formal Programme for the local celebrations of the 60th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II’s enthronment will be announced at Government House at a later date, a release from Government House said.

Queen Elizabeth II ascended to the throne in February 1952 after the death of her father King George VI.

Queen Victoria was the only previous British monarch to have reigned for 60 years.