Posted on

National scholars for 2011 named


The names of the four males and two females who have been awarded national scholarships for 2011 have been released.{{more}}

Gregory Tuayev-Deane, Gavery David, Kevorn Cuffy, Shane Clarke, Jenell Gibson and Lianne Wynne, all former students of the St.Vincent and the Grenadines Community College Division of Arts, Sciences and General Studies, have been awarded based on their performance in the May / June 2011 CXC Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Exam (CAPE) and the GCE A’level examinations.

Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves told SEARCHLIGHT that the names of the recipients of National Exhibitions and Special Awards will be announced shortly.

The National Scholarships cover five years of study at university with no restrictions on the area of study. The National Exhibitions will be for a period of three years with no restrictions on the area of study.

The most outstanding student, in addition to the five-year scholarship, normally receives the Prime Minister’s Award of a medal and an additional sum of $10,000.00.

More details on the National Scholarships will be published in the Midweek Edition of SEARCHLIGHT next week.