Posted on

Rose elected chair of CPDC

Rose elected chair of CPDC


Renwick Rose of the Windward Islands Farmers Association (WINFA) has been elected Chair of the Board of Directors of the Caribbean (NGO) Policy Development Centre.{{more}}

His election took place on Thursday, 30 June, 2011, as the organization held its Annual General Assembly at the Grand Coastal Inn, Guyana.

At the meeting, civil society organisations from throughout the region renewed their commitment to the Caribbean (NGO) Policy Development Centre as a regional platform for civil society views and concerns.

The gathering noted that although the CPDC was formed 20 years ago, in response to the deteriorating economic and social conditions, today those challenges are still relevant and have actually become more acute, eroding the social and economic gains previously made.

At the Assembly, the organisation’s members agreed that new, non-traditional ways of addressing issues must be found to help meet the needs of the region’s peoples. It committed itself to working with other civil society organisations to form a common platform to provide quality representation for, and to promote the collective value of, this sector.

The representation of the CPDC was expanded to include the Regional Non-State Actors Panel (NSA), which signed a memorandum of understanding with CPDC. The MOU provides for CPDC to be the voice of the grouping at the regional level. The NSAs are national umbrella civil society organisations. The organisation also agreed to new categories of membership which will broaden the reach of the organisation. This move came after numerous calls by variousnational organisations and individuals for representation by CPDC.

Moreover, a new Board of Directors was elected; which comprised of the Windward Islands Farmers Association (WINFA), the Caribbean Network for Integrated Rural Development (CNIRD), the Caribbean Organisation of Indigenous Peoples (COIP), the Caribbean Youth Environmental Network (CYEN), and the Barbados Association of Non-Governmental Organisations (BANGO).

Marissa Mohammed of CNIRD was elected Deputy Chair.