Posted on

Animal destroys King Fabulous’ Cave

Animal destroys King Fabulous’ Cave


After three years of being prevented from wearing the Soca Monarch crown, Delroy ‘Fireman’ Hooper snatched back the title he had won on six previous occasions.{{more}}

On Saturday, July 2, the crowd erupted in cheers when the judges’ scores were announced and Hooper was named Soca Monarch champion 2011.

A nonchalant Hooper said that although he is “proud” to have regained the title with his song ‘Animal’, it’s back to business as usual for him.

He said that winning the Soca Monarch title is no walk in the park.

“If you lose, you go back to the drawing board. When you win, you have to work harder. Defending [the title] is the toughest time in your life!” he asserted.

In second place was Gamal ‘Skinny Fabulous’ Doyle who stood up to jeering from a tough audience when he performed ‘The Cave’.

But his fans were suitably impressed with his ‘Rocket Man’ routine, cave men and women, and back-up dancers in green body suits.

Although the Soca Monarch title slipped from his grasp this year, Doyle is almost certainly plotting how he can take it back for 2012.

Godwin ‘Gao’ Oliver had a good run this year, placing third in the competition with his wildly popular song ‘Noon’.

Oliver, who told the audience “If de man had drink de nooni juice, he wouldn’t ah jump de sheep!” – had the crowd in a frenzy from the moment he graced the stage with his feet uncharacteristically donned in dress shoes, until he completed his performance.

James ‘Jamesy P’ Morgan took fourth place with ‘No Prisoners’ – a commendable achievement, as this was his first time entering the Soca Monarch competition.

The other competitors were: Shertz ‘Problem Child’ James – ‘We Miserable’, Godfrey Dublin – ‘Any number could play’, Edison ‘Lively’ McDowall – ‘Tek Dat’, Lawrence ‘Koyaba’ Jack – ‘Grandpa Cocoa’, Armstrong ‘Strong’ Williams – ‘Tie Me’, Shernelle ‘Skarpyon’ Williams – ‘Like It’, Hance John – ‘Jump’, Dennis Bowman – ‘Do what ah want’, Lornette ‘Fya Empress’ Nedd – ‘Colours’, Travis ‘Wizskid’ Lynch – ‘Hype Up’, Montgomery ‘Demus’ Laborde – ‘Dis is madness’, Raeon ‘Maddzart’ Primus – ‘Flock up de place’, St. Clair ‘Donkey Man’ Lewis – ‘Georgetown mash up’, and Jamal ‘Fimba’ Jardine – ‘Me Nah Eat’.

Since the Soca Monarch competition first started in 1996, it has also been won by Winston Soso (1996), Dennis Bowman (1997), August ‘Man Stone’ Sargeant (1998), Cornelius ‘Poorsah’ Williams (2002), Raeon ‘Maddzart’ Primus (2003) and Orandi ‘Bomani’ Charles (2004).

Skinny Fabulous won the competition in 2008, 2009 and 2010.(JV)