Posted on

Allen appointed new Chairman of the ECSRC

Allen appointed new Chairman  of the ECSRC


Vincentian Economist, Errol Allen, has been appointed Chairman of the Eastern Caribbean Securities Regulatory Commission (ECSRC).{{more}}

Allen, who previously served as Deputy Governor of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) from 1983 to 2005, was appointed as the ECSRC’s chairman at the ECCB Monetary Council’s 66th meeting.

He replaces outgoing Chairman Calvin Rodgers of Antigua.

The Monetary Council has also filled other vacancies on the commission.

The council appointed Arthur Thomas of Antigua and Barbuda to serve as the ECSRC’s Deputy Chairman. He, like Allen will serve a five year term.

The vacancy created by Crispin Sorhaindo of Dominica, whose term of service ended on October 18, 2009, was also filled.

Dr.Vincent Richards of Antigua and Barbuda and Lucia Lingston Andall of Grenada were appointed as new commissioners to the ECSRC. They will serve for two years.

The ECSRC has also appointed Kennedy Byron to serve as Secretary to the Commission. He replaces Henry Hazel.

The primary functions of the five-member ECSRC Commission are to maintain the integrity of the Eastern Caribbean Securities Market (ECSM), protect investors, promote market efficiency and facilitate market development.