Posted on

Toastmasters inducted

Toastmasters inducted


The admission of a record nine new Toastmasters between the months of August and September this year has earned this country’s local chapter the much coveted Smedley Award.

The receipt of the award was just one of the reasons for the club’s celebratory mood, as they held a wine and cheese evening on Friday, November 30, at the Cheers Restaurant and Bar in Villa.{{more}}

The club, which is based on enhancing the public speaking skills of its members, received their first ribbon this year, and for being the Distinguished Club of the Year, and for being in the top five in the international standings.

For having five new members between August and September, the club will receive the Smedley Ribbon, named after Ralph Smedley, founder of the organization.

The nine new members are Errol Fraser, Telojo Onu, Viclene Matthews, Wade Carter, Janice King, Sharon Dennie, Phyllis James, Augustus Ambrose and Rhondel Dickson.

The inductees were sworn, then welcomed to the club by President Jacinta Thomas Elliot, Immediate Past President Monica Woodley and other members of the club.

Minister of Non Governmental Organizations Mike Browne addressed the gathering, congratulated the inductees, and reaffirmed his Ministry’s support for the club.

The evening was topped off with table topics masters, where the members selected topics on which they spoke. (JJ)