Posted on

Bad Feelings sails away with first place

Bad Feelings sails away with first place


THE CREW OF the sailing boat “Bad Feelings” must have had `good feelings’ as they dominated the two days of sailing and the three races which they won convincingly, as the Mayreau Regatta came to a climax following four days of activities which began on Thursday April 26 and concluded on Sunday April 29, 2007, as a series of activities organized by the Mayreau Regatta & Sporting Committee (MRSC).{{more}}

A total of 18 locally built double ender sailing boats representing Bequia, Canouan, Petit Martinique, Union Island, Carriacou and Mayreau took part in the three races one of which was held on Saturday April 28 with the final two races held on Sunday April 29, 2007. The boats raced in four classes determined by the size of the boat.

The regatta activities began on Thursday, with a fishing competition; Friday: a beach party, domino and “All Fours ” competitions and a Bingo; Saturday: the first sailing boat race and Miss Pee Wee competition, while on Sunday the major attraction was the regatta.

The seven and eight years olds who took part in the Miss Pee Wee competition included Jady Forde (Winner), Tiffany Forde (1st runner up), Shaniah Raguette (2nd runner up), Razanni Badenock, and Ronessa Grant. This aspect of the Regatta activities was organized by Mrs. Annie Adams who is also the secretary of the MRSC. Guest artiste performing during the Miss Pee Wee show was Cornel Frederick who sang his own composition titled “Tek yo comess and go”.

The final results of the sailing boat competition follow:

Class 1 Bad Feelings -Mayreau 1st Hard Target- Mayreau 2nd Robin- Canouan- 3rd

Class 2 Electric 3 -Petit Martinique-1st Now for Now- Petit Martinique- 2nd Matrix – Petit Martinique 3rd

Class 3 Pimpy -Carriacou- 1st Ark Royal- Petit Martinique- 2nd Fidel- Carriacou -3rd

Class 4 Nerissa J- Canouan- 1st Progress- Canouan- 2nd

The results for the fishing competition follow:

Most heads caught

Callie Ollivierre- Bequia 179 Cheddison Bynoe- Bequia 169 Norbert Dember Mayreau 168

Heaviest catch

Norbert Dember Mayreau 147 lbs Cheddison Bynoe- Bequia 136 lbs Callie Ollivierre – Bequia 107 lbs

Heaviest single catch Felix Ollivierre- Bequia- 14 lbs Norbert DemberMayreau 8 lbs Callie Ollivierre – Bequia 4 lbs

The MRSC would like to express sincere thanks to all the agencies, businesses and friends who sponsored the 2007 Mayreau Regatta. The MRSC is headed by President Claude Alexander, Vice President George Fredericks, Secretary Annie Adams, PRO Jean Alexander, Treasurer Desmond Lewis and committee members, Munroe Forde, Gloria Nichols, Faustina Lewis, Maria Ollivierre, Sandra Forde, Jacintha Forde, Stedman Forde, Everstan Roberts, Ricky Alexander, John Forde, Adolphus Forde, Aaron Alexander, Vennor Ollivierre, Zannie Adams, Elmore Lewis, Owen Isaacs and Theresa Bartholomew.