Posted on

Three Laureates selected


Three of the Caribbean’s most talented and distinguished sons were selected as Laureates in the ground-breaking inaugural Caribbean Recognition Programme, “The Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence.”{{more}}

The Laureates honoured for their work in the following categories are: Art and Letters – Robert Yao Ramesar; Science and Technology – Professor Terrence Forrester; and for Public and Civic Contributions – Father Gregory Ramkissoon. Full bios of the Laureates are included for reference.

The Laureates will be honoured at a gala Award Ceremony Saturday, October 7, 2006 at the Trinidad Hilton. Each Laureate will receive The ANSA Caribbean Awards for Excellence Gold Medal and a Citation to recognise and commend their achievements, and TT $500,000 to support their work and professional development.

A methodical, multi-stage, region-wide nomination, evaluation and selection process was used. The Laureates were chosen from an exceptional field of nominations of highly accredited professionals from across the Caribbean that included Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago and the OECS including Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.