Posted on

11 sworn in as new Justices of Peace


Eleven persons were sworn in on Friday, July 14 as Justices of the Peace. The ceremony took place at Government House.

The 11 persons are Berkley Alexander, Verrol Blake, Anita Doyle, Margaret Glasgow, Eric McDowall, Julius Louie, John Roach, Charles Samuel, Rosita Snagg, Sylvester Tannis and Kenneth Williams.{{more}}

The new JPs took the Oath of Allegiance and the Judicial Oath, after which they each signed their sworn statements. The Governor-General His Excellency Sir Frederick Ballantyne also signed the instruments for the new Justices of the Peace.

The Governor-General also congratulated the new Justices of the Peace. He hoped that the people of St. Vincent and the Grenadines and the Justices of the Peace recognized the honour that the Government has bestowed on them as private individuals, in according them the role.

Sir Frederick said that the responsibility placed on their shoulders is one that a government and its people would entrust to individuals of high moral character and of impeccable integrity.

He also reminded them that their jurisdiction extends throughout St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and is not limited to their area of residence.