Posted on

T&T has first female Opposition Leader



Meanwhile, with the support of 8 out of 15 functioning UNC MPs, MP Kamla Persad-Bissessar succeeded Basdeo Panday as Opposition Leader, becoming the first female to take that position and confirming in the process the lame duck status of Political Leader, Winston Dookeran.

MPs- Subhas Panday, Kelvin Ramnath, Roodal Moonilal, Adesh Nanan, Chandresh Sharma, Hamza Rafeeq and Harry Partap indicated in writing to President Maxwell Richards Wednesday that Persad-Bissessar “commands our support in the House of Representatives and we kindly request that she be appointed as Leader of the Opposition in the House”. Their letter was accompanied by a letter from Persad-Bissessar indicating that she was willing to serve in the position.