Posted on

Saint Lucia to chair ECCB Monetary Council


Basseterre, St Kitts – Dr the Honourable Kenny Anthony, Prime Minister/Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs, Financial and Information Services, for Saint Lucia will assume the chairmanship of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank’s Monetary Council on 22 July 2005.

He will take over as Chairman from Dr the Honourable Denzil Douglas, Prime Minister/Minister of Finance, Technology and Sustainable Development, Tourism, Sports and Culture for St Kitts and Nevis, at a brief handing over ceremony at the Bay Gardens Hotel in Saint Lucia at 8:30 a.m. on 22 July 2005. Prime Minister Anthony will then lead the Council in its deliberations at the 53rd Monetary Council Meeting, commencing at 9:00 a.m. on that day. {{more}}

The Monetary Council will receive the Governor’s report on monetary and credit conditions, and will provide directives and guidelines to the Bank, as mandated by the ECCB Agreement 1983, which governs the operations of the Central Bank.

The Monetary Council, which is the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank’s highest decision-making body, meets three times a year. Chairmanship of the Council is rotated among the members annually. (ECCB)