Posted on

10 finalists selected to do battle with Calypso Monarch Fya Empress

10 finalists selected to do battle with Calypso Monarch Fya Empress


Twelve more calypsonians have been eliminated and the 10 finalists that will do battle against the defending Calypso Monarch, Lornette “Fya Empress” Nedd-Reid, have been selected.{{more}}

Out front with three picks into the “Big Yard” is the Dynamites Calypso Tent of New York, followed by Graduates, Upstage and On Tour with two each and P’tani, one.

Dynamites’ picks, John Dougan with his hit “Betrayal” and Dennis Bowman’s “Wey ye Dey” – a tribute to Vincentian National Hero Joseph Chatoyer, were among the favourites of the night. A surprising selection came in the person of Carlos “Chang I” Morgan, with his tune “100% Vincy”. These three will be looking to take the Calypso crown back to North America.

But they will have to make sure that they come strong on the night of the finals, particularly against one of last Friday’s most favoured performers, Glen “Bump I” Richards, who challenged his colleagues with the song “Judge,” and Glenroy “Homey” Delplesche out of the Graduates Calypso Tent.

Former junior monarch Shaunelle McKenzie of the Upstage Experience paid tribute to mothers with her song “Mama Crying”.

Former Ragga Soca champion Shernelle “Skarpyon” Williams got a late entry after fellow Upstage cast member Ronald “Ron B” Browne indicated that he had to withdraw from the finals, due to some personal commitments.

Former Monarch Grantley “Ipa” Constance will be looking to take the crown in 2013, as he and Glenford “Azara” Charles represent the On Tour Calypso Tent.

And Javelle “Diya” Frank remains consistent out of P’tani, following her trip to the finals back in 2011.

It was tough going for most of the bigger names on the local calypso scene, such as three-time monarchs Kenneth “Vibrating Scakes” Alleyne and Bridgette “Joy-C” Creese, with the latter making a valiant effort, despite some medical complications.

The other semi-finalists on the night were Gosnel “GC” Cupid, Elliot “Mystery” Shallow, Paul “I Madd” Scrub, Fitzroy “Brother Ebony” Joseph, debutant Kirk “Ninja” Knights, Kingsley “Hero” Roberts, Zamfir “Man Zangie” Adams and Aurella “Queen B” Beache.

The finals will take place at the Victoria Park on July 7.(DD)