Posted on

GSS crowned U-21 cricket champions

GSS crowned U-21 cricket champions


It was all Georgetown Secondary School (GSS) last Thursday at the Park Hill Playing Field, as the school completely outplayed the Sandy Bay Secondary, to earn the title of champions of the Massy United Insurance Under-21 Cricket Competition.{{more}}

It was a win made easy, as GSS rattled up 266 for 6 from their 34 overs, then dismissed Sandy Bay for 150 in 28.2 overs. Georgetown’s challenge total was built around several good knocks, with Othneil leading the way with 61.

His top score saw him belting four fours and five sixes, while Carmalo Caine hit 43, which included six fours and two sixes.

Also coming to the party was Nimron Daniel, whose 42 comprised four fours and one six; Urnel Thomas – 38, made up of four fours and two sixes, and Dillon Douglas – 34, in which he had one four and one six.

Bowling for Sandy Bay, Karson Hoyte had 2 for 37.

But Sandy Bay did not come to the party on the field. Only Sealroy Williams’ innings of 45, in which he had three fours and three sixes, negotiated the GSS’s bowling.

A contribution of 28 extras and Delanzo Lavia’s 20 came in after Williams’ efforts.

Othneil Lewis – 3 for 41; Urnel Thomas – 2 for 24 and Rasheed Fredericks – 2 for 26, all combined to see their school romp to a comfortable 116-run triumph.

The cricket title thus made it four for the institution thus far for the 2015-2016 school year. Last December, the GSS won the U-21 football title for the first time and two weeks ago retained both genders of the schools’ volleyball competition.

Meanwhile, Othneil Lewis, for his all-round performance on the day, was adjudged Player of the Final. He added the Best All-rounder of the competition accolade to his collection, as he scored 229 runs and captured 13 wickets.

Not done, Lewis pouched the most runs award too.

Another individual award went to the GSS, as Dillon Douglas creamed the top wicketkeeper trophy.

And Sealron Williams, the other half of the twins from the Sandy Bay Secondary, was the top wicket taker, grabbing 18 scalps.

Troumaca Secondary, the 2015 champions, failed to emerge from the group stage of the competition.(RT)