Posted on

Luta snags AMP entertainer of the year award

Luta snags AMP entertainer of the year award


Rondy ‘Luta’ Mc Intosh is this year’s Association of Music Professionals (AMP) entertainer of the year.

McIntosh won the award ahead of reigning soca and ragga soca monarch Gamal ‘Skinny Fabulous’ Doyle, popular pannist Rodney Small, internationally acclaimed songwriter{{more}} and singer Marlon Roudette and reigning road march king Shane ‘Hypa 4000’ Husbands.

The elated singer took to social media after the award to express his happiness after being awarded.

“It is a norm to say thanks to all your fans/ supporters when ever you win an award but my fans know how appreciative I am of their unwavering love and support.

“This is our year to shine, let’s unite on this front to stamp the Vincy music brand across the globe as a premium product from the Caribbean. I am 100 per cent in the fight. Let’s do it,” Mc Intosh stated.

The ceremony was held at the Russells Auditorium last Saturday with awards being presented to music practitioners across a wide spectrum.

The evening saw live performances by bands and artistes including: Impac Jazz, Abuza, Fenton Harry, Dynamite, Stacy Little, Gem, Keith Currency, Halia and a special performance by the band Touch.

The AMP lifetime achievement award was presented to Olsen “Caribbean Pete” Peters by former minister of culture Rene Baptiste, who also presented AMP special honours awards to Ferrand “Randy D” Dopwell and the Band Touch.

Remarks were made by president of the AMP Orande ‘Bomani’ Charles, GECCU representative Danalie Hinds and minister of tourism, sports and culture Cecil McKie.

This years awardees were: Gospel single of the Year – Jehovah Lives – La Fleur Durrant; Best Vocal Performance by a Duo or Group – HHC Group – Kingdom Life Ministries Barrouallie; Calypso single of the year –

Change In Attitude – Zamfir “Man Zangie” Adams; Reggae single of the Year – Gedion – Dynamite; Universal Single of the Year – Everybody Feeling Something – Marlon Roudette; Dancehall single of the year – Love Wins – Keith Currency; Hip Hop & R&B single of the Year – Shake It Shake It – Keith Currency featuring Kool Kid; Best New Artiste Male – Mason; Best Vocal Collaboration – Marlon Roudette & K- Stewart – Everybody Feeling Something; Disc Jockey of the Year –

DJ Q of Sound Definition; Radio Station of the Year – NBC Radio; Ragga Soca single of the year by a Female Artiste – Disengaged – Shaunelle Mc Kenzie; Ragga Soca single of the year by a Male Artiste -This Island is Mine – Skinny Fabulous featuring Rodney Small; Soca single of the Year – Dutty – Hypa 4000; Best Riddim Track – Fete Life Riddim – Fryktion; Best Live Band – K-Netik Band; Best Music Video – This Island Is Mine – Skinny Fabulous & Rodney Small – Co directors – Rasheid Sutherland & Cauldric Fraser; Songwriter of the Year – Shirtz “Problem Child” James; Musician of the Year – Andy Cruickshank; Producer of the Year – Lester Iroha; Record of the Year – This Island Is Mine – Skinny Fabulous featuring Rodney Small and Entertainer of the Year – Luta.