Posted on

Skinny Fabulous takes lion’s share at AMP awards

Skinny Fabulous takes lion’s share at AMP awards


International soca star Skinny Fabulous topped the list as he took home the lion’s share of the awards at the inaugural St Vincent and the Grenadines Association of Music Professionals (SVGAMP) awards last weekend.{{more}}

The reigning Soca and Road March Monarch, real name Gamal Doyle, won all three categories that he was nominated in, during the show that took place at the Peace Memorial Hall in Kingstown on Friday evening.

The event, the first of its kind, was broadcast live on radio and television.

Doyle was nominated for, and won the Soca Single of the Year, Record of the Year for his track “The General”, as well as Entertainer of the Year.

Doyle, who arrived after the event had started, got there in time to accept two of his three trophies, for which he thanked family, friends and fans for the support he has been receiving over the years.

Like others before and after him, the soca artiste and songwriter applauded SVGAMP for the initiative, saying that the idea was long overdue, as he thanked them for the nomination, as well as those who selected him as the winner.

Another current national monarch, Shernel Williams, who performs under the moniker “Skarpyon,” also won the two categories that he was nominated in: Calypso Single of the Year (Until) and Ragga Soca Single of the Year (Hammer and Conch). Skarpyon is the 2013 Calypso and Ragga Soca winner.

Overseas-based singer Sarah Mark was the only other artiste to pick up multiple awards, of the more than 50 individuals who were nominated.

Mark won awards for Universal Single of the Year and Best New Female Artiste.

A posthumous award was presented to the family of Ishan, who was judged the winner of the Reggae Single of the Year. The reggae bard died early last year after a brief illness.

The other winners on the night included: Hip Hop/ R&B Single of the year, Prez (Beautiful Nightmares); Dancehall Single of the Year, First Lady (Leftovers); Christmas Single of the Year, Luta (Girlyn); Gospel Artiste of the Year, Kioka Cruickshank-Jack; Best New Male Artiste, Keith Currency; Best Live Band, K-netik; Music Video of the Year, Concrete Jungle (Directed by Akley Olton); DJ of the Year, Captain John; Radio Station of the Year, NBC Radio; Producer of the Year, Alex “Kubiyashi” Barnwell; Musician of the Year, Rodney Small; Riddim Track of the Year, Oil Stain Riddim; and Songwriter of the Year, Bomani. (JJ)