Posted on

SVGTU establishes National Stewards’ Council

Social Share

The National Stewards’ Council of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Teachers’ Union (SVGTU) was established on October 8.{{more}}

It will be launched during Teachers’ Solidarity Week, November 9 – 15, 2014.

According to a release from the SVGTU, the National Stewards’ Council shall be managed by five officers, who were elected by School Stewards from across the country.

Their role is to assist in coordinating the work of the SVGTU and be involved in monitoring the performances of the National and Branch Executive members. They shall also ensure that the decisions and programmes made at both the Biennial Convention and the National General Meetings are executed.

The officers elected to serve are: chair: Phillip Jacobs; vice-chair: Vincent Benjamin; secretary: Jan Providence; assistant secretary: Cassandra King; committee member and Nolland Allen.