Posted on

Sponsors named for Miss Heritage 2011

Sponsors named for Miss Heritage 2011

Social Share

The official sponsors of the 2011 Miss Heritage pageant were announced last week, as the event draws closer to its October 22 date.{{more}}

On Thursday, June 22, LaToya DeRoche, chairperson of the organising committee, introduced the sponsors to the media.

Andrea Bowman, Headmistress of the Girls’ High School (the host institution), said: “We [the pageant] are bigger and stronger because we have wonderful sponsors.”

Basil Alexander, country manager of Scotiabank – super platinum sponsor of the event – said that it was a “distinct pleasure” to be associated with this year’s pageant.

As part of the financial institution’s commitment to social development, Scotiabank’s sponsorship of such events helps to “promote and expose the richness of the heritage of St. Vincent and the Grenadines”.

Alexander added: “Our dream is to see the youth expand their horizons.”

He also said that he was impressed by the commitment and dedication of the organisers.

Several other representatives from sponsor companies were unanimous in expressing their pleasure at being involved in “such a prestigious event”, and considered it their “civic duty” to encourage youth development in this way.

Platinum sponsors include The Department of Culture and IK TV. Silver sponsors are the National Broadcasting Corporation, The News Newspaper, St Vincent Brewery Ltd., Grenadine House, and Providence Electronic Solutions.

Digicel is a Gold sponsor; and Bronze sponsors include Trotman’s Electronics, St Vincent Bank Cooperative and Echoes Jewellery.

This year’s pageant is under the theme “Our Women, Our Heritage”.

The nine finalists also attended the event, and briefly introduced themselves to the media and sponsors.

They are: Turphanie Davis, of the St Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua; Claireesa Jacobs, Intermediate High School; Precious Abraham, St. Joseph’s Convent Kingstown; Chelsia Burke, Georgetown Secondary; Brittany John, Union Island Secondary School; Jonique Chance, Thomas Saunders Secondary; Beverna Simmons, George Stephens Senior Secondary School; Lystra Burgin, West St George Secondary School; and Anya Frederick, Girls’ High School.(JV)