Posted on

Vincentians feature at Soroptimist Conference

Vincentians feature at Soroptimist Conference


Vincentian Kathryn Cyrus was elected President of the Caribbean Regional Council (CRC) of Soroptimist International for the 2005-2007 term at the 18th Biennial Soroptimist Caribbean Regional Conference held from August 9 to 13 in Anguilla. St. Vincent and the Grenadines was represented by a seven member delegation.{{more}}

The new CRC Executive also includes President elect Gloria Payne Banfield (Grenada), Vice President Joyce Haynes (SVG), Immediate Past President Josephine Gumbs, Secretary, Yvette Rose (SVG), Treasurer, Shirla Little (SVG), Extension Officer, Barbara Taylor (Barbados), Programme Action, Annelle Thomas (SVG) and Editor, Cecelia Quashie (Grenada).

New President of the CRC, Kathryn Cyrus said she was honoured to accept the position and did so with pride and humility. She urged the clubs to work together for the greater good of all and to make better lives for their people.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines received another accolade at the conference when Annelle Thomas, Past President Soroptimist International SVG (SISVG) and the Caribbean Region was announced as the Most Outstanding Soroptimist of the Region. This award is presented every two years at the Regional Conference.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines will host the next CRC Conference to be held in 2007.

The Conference was attended by 90 persons from 17 clubs in 8 countries of the Caribbean. Soroptimist International has 98,000 members in 120 countries, making it the largest women’s organization.