Posted on

Volcanoes erupt to take SVGCC football title

Volcanoes erupt to take SVGCC football title
Teachers combined custodian frozen in time as Volcanoes scores again this time from a set piece

Social Share

Volcanoes FC Team 1 are the new champions of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Community College(SVGCC) Invitational Six-a-Side Football Championship, after outplaying Teachers Combined 4 – 1 in the finals last Friday November 12 at the college’s Villa campus.

Volcanoes erupt to take SVGCC football title
Chrisheur harry (yellow outfit) slams past the teachers combined custodian for the first goal of last Friday’s finals (photos by Robertson S Henry)

Delano Benjamin pulled the offensive stings for Volcanoes FC Team 1, a major difference between the teams on the day. Benjamin scored once and orchestrated goals which were scored by Chrisheur Harry, and one of the two converted by Tahj Williams.

On the defensive end, Dillon Moore was a rock in midfield for Volcanoes, breaking up most of the goal scoring threats offered up by Teachers Combined.

Yahseem Dascent eventually found the back of the net for Teachers Combined late in the second period, but was this was too little, too late.

In the previous game for the third-place play-off, Jebelle Youth in a no-nonsense mood, handed All Saints Medical Team 2 an 8-3 whipping to walk away with the third place trophy.

The tournament’s lead scorer was Trezine DaSouza, who netted four goals in Friday’s third-place clash; while Jeffon Collins hit a brace, with a goal each coming from Kenyon Baptiste and Jemmie Keil.

Olise Uwadone tried to resurrect the efforts of All Saints Medical Team 2 in the second period, but the task was daunting even though he scored all three goals for the medical students.

Individual and team prizes were handed out following the third place play off and final game.

MVP for each participating team-:

All Saints Medical 2 – Olise Uwadone.

Year 2 DASGS – Javique Chambers.

Year 2 Technical – Clinton Payne.

Volcanoes Team 1- Dillon Moore.

Volcanoes Team 2– Agustus Adams.

Teachers Combined – Yahseem Dascent.

System 3 Youth – Chad Haynes.

Central Leeward Secondary – J’ron Quow.

Jebelle Youth – Jeffron Collins.

All Saints Medical 1 – Ikenna Damien.

Most Improved Players Awards for each team-:

All Saints Medical 2 – Abbah Micheal.

Year 2 DASGS – Christopher Joseph.

Year 2 Technical – Kaheem Jones.

Volcanoes Team 1- Jlan McMaster.

Volcanoes Team 2 – Jeovanni Enville. Teachers Combined- Antonio Rodney.

System 3 Youth- Kobe Sutherland.

Central Leeward Secondary – Zebeon Cunningham.

Jebelle Youth – Colin John.

All Saints Medical 1 – Precious Levi .

Major Awards:

MVP semi-final 1 – Antonio Rodney of Teachers Combined.

MVP semi-final 2 – Delano Benjamin of Volcanoes FC Team 1.

Best goal keeper- Anthony Hazel.

Best defender- Kenton Peters.

Best midfielder – Dillon Moore of Volcanoes FC Team 1

Best striker- Abbah Micheal of All Saints Medical Team 2.

Goal of the Final – Delano Benjamin of Volcanoes FC Team 1.

Most goals – 14 by Trezine DaSouza of Jebelle Youth.

MVP 3rd place- Ossique Billingy of Jebelle Youth.

MVP of the Final- Delano Benjamin of Volcanoes FC Team 1.

MVP of the Tournament – Kenton Peters of Teachers Combined.

Champions – Volcanoes FC Team 1.

Second place team – Teachers’ Combined.

Third place team – Jebelle Youth.