Posted on

Bynoe, Lampkin to vie for post of president of SVGTU

Bynoe, Lampkin to vie for post of president of SVGTU

Social Share

When voting for a new executive of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Teachers Union (SVGTU) ends this week, the organization will have a new president.

Wendy Bynoe and Vibert Lampkin, current members of the executive, are contesting the post of president, to replace the incumbent Oswald Robinson, who is not eligible for election, he having served three consecutive two-year terms.

Voting begins today Tuesday, February 27 and will conclude tomorrow February 28, after all ballots have been collected from the schools and counted.

At a press conference last week, outgoing president Oswald Robinson said he is confident that the new executive will continue their work.

“I anticipate that the union would continue to listen to its members… adjudicate for socio-economic justice. The very objectives of the organization are outlined and it gives the new executive that framework, among other things, to move the union forward,” Robinson said.

Industrial Relations and Research officer Otto Sam said the current executive has done good work and have remained focussed on appointments and promotions, working conditions and duty allowances.

He said the union was successful in getting duty allowances for 2017 for Special Needs teachers paid and that a number of teachers are to be appointed because of their advocacy.

Sam said the SVGTU intends to test some of the cases they have advocated for in court, so that “systemic unfair treatment can be addressed, because the courts will speak to them in particular.”

He openly endorsed Bynoe, who is the currently public relations officer, for the post of president. Lampkin, the other presidential hopeful, is the current first vice-president.

“…I am excited to have been working with this executive. And I do believe that the PRO, with her experience and her good work, her forthrightness and her strength to stand up to issues, would make an exciting president for the future of the union,” stated Sam.

Robinson offered advice to his successor.

“For those who succeed me as president, I would say, broaden your shoulders, because the licks will come from, left, right and centre, even from within. But just hold your head steady. You can’t please everybody.”

Other persons contesting positions on the executive are: Kent Cain for first vice-president; Clarence Crooke and Andrew John for second vice-president; Sherri Edwards and Oswald Robinson for general secretary; Sharon Doyle and Nikeisha Williams for assistant general secretary; James Wilson for treasurer; Sheddie Conliffe and Jonathan Roberts for public relations officer; and Noland Allen, Anthony Compton, Ketty Kydd-Rhynd, Anthony Stewart, Edmira Walker and Vanrick Williams for committee members, of whom two will be chosen.

Officers elected will serve a two-year term, from 2018 – 2020.(CB)