Posted on

Windward Islands Volcanoes end 2018/2019 PCL in defeat

Windward Islands Volcanoes end 2018/2019 PCL in defeat


The Windward Islands Volcanoes ended their 2018/2019 WICB Professional Cricket League (PCL) Regional Four-Day Cricket tournament in defeat.

The Volcanoes were beaten by six wicket within three days, by the Leeward Islands Hurricanes at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium in Antigua on Saturday.

Sent in to bat, the Volcanoes were dismissed for 200. Sunil Ambris led from the front with 92, hitting 14 fours and a six.

Sheeno Berridge took 4 for 34, Alzarri Joseph, 3 for 36 and Quinton Boatswain, 2 for 58, were the Hurricanes’ most successful bowlers.

In response, the Hurricanes made 261. Devon Thomas made 69, Jaison Peters, 59 not out and Terrance Warde, 40.

Bowling for the Volcanoes, Ray Jordan had 3 for 40, and there were two wickets each for Allick Athanaze, Josh Thomas and Kavem Hodge.

Batting a second time, the Volcanoes posted 226, with Audy Alexander, 50 not out and Sunil Ambris, 31.

Alzarri Joseph was the pick of the Hurricanes’ bowling, taking 5 for 66 and Quinton Boatswain, 2 for 46.

Set 166 to win, the Hurricanes recovered from 26 for 4 to reach 168 for no further loss.

Devon Thomas, who scored 117 not out, which included 16 fours and 4 sixes, and Terrance Warde, 40 not out, shared an unbroken stand of 142 for the fifth wicket.

It was the Volcanoes’ fourth straight loss, finishing with a mere three wins as against seven defeats.

At Providence, in Guyana, Jaguars wrapped up a six-wicket win over the Trinidad and Tobago Red Force, also in three days, to virtually assure them a fifth straight hold on the title.

Red Force made 120. Imran Khan made 31. Romario Shepherd bagged 5 for 24 and Sherfane Rutherford, 2 for 31.

Jaguars replied with 165, with Anthony Bramble scoring 62.

Bowling for the Red Force, Daniel St Clair took 3 for 29 and Odean Smith, 3 for 37.

The Jaguars in their second innings, posted 206, with Khary Pierre scoring 30.

Shepherd took 3 for 52 and Raymon Reifer, 2 for 43.

Chasing 162 for victory, Jaguars reached 163 for 4. Leon Johnson scored 76 and Tagenarine Chanderpaul, 43 not out.

The win was Jaguars’ seventh, as they finished the tournament on 152.4 points.

And, at the Sabina Park in Jamaica, Barbados Pride won by two wickets against the Jamaica Scorpions.

Set 158 to win, Barbados Pride reached 161 for 8. Shamarh Brooks led with 71. Nikita Miller scalped 3 for 43, Akim Frazer had 3 for 55 and Jerome Taylor, 2 for 23.

Barbados Pride‘s run chase was set, after Scorpions fell behind by 61 runs on first innings, when they made 218 in their second innings. Brandon King scored 46, Garth Garvey, 37 and Jermaine Blackwood, 31, while Roston Chase snared 5 for 63, while Keon Harding had 4 for 80.

Jonathan Carter scored 91, in the Pride’s first innings total of 311 for 9. Kraigg Braithwaite, 57 and Shayne Moseley, 40, were the other significant contributors with the bat.

The Jamaica Scorpions’ first innings stopped at 250. Nkrumah Bonner scored 97 and Paul Palmer, 66.

For the Barbados Pride, Marquino Mindley and Miguel Cummins had 3 for 36, and 3 for 37, respectively.

The final round of matches will be played from this Thursday, with Barbados Pride playing the Hurricanes in Antigua and the Red Force hosting the Scorpions at the Brian Lara Cricket Stadium in Trinidad.