Posted on

2018 National Sports Awards set for this Saturday

2018 National Sports Awards set for this Saturday


The 2018 National Lotteries Authority National Sports Awards Ceremony takes place this Saturday, March 16, at the auditorium of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Community College.

Nominated for Junior Sportsman of the Year are Handal Roban – track and field, Alex Joachim – swimming, Asmond Franklyn – volleyball, Rayshawn Lewis – cricket and Enrico Louraine and Micah Glasgow – beach volleyball.

Vyeing for Junior Sportswoman of the Year are Ulanda Lewis and Zita Vincent – track and field and Shne’ Joachim and Eltonique Leonard – swimming.
Meanwhile, three cricketers, in Obed Mc Coy, Sunil Ambris and Kesrick Williams, are competing with two others for the title of Senior Sportsman of the Year.

The trio, along with Junior Ashton (track and field) and Zefal Bailey (cycling), make up the lot.

Linda Mc Dowall (track and field), Cordel Jack and Juliana Nero (cricket), are the nominees for Sportswoman of the Year.

Five persons are being adjudicated for the accolade of Coach of the Year.

They are Kyle Dougan – swimming, Michael Ollivierre and Rawlson Morgan – track and field, Eardley Martin – volleyball and Bishon Williams – football.

And, the St Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association Inc., the SVG Swimming Federation, Team Athletics SVG and the SVG Volleyball Association, are the nominees for Association of the Year.

The other areas of adjudication to be announced at Saturday’s ceremony are the Sports Journalist of the Year and the Sports Photograph of the Year.

Saturday’s awards ceremony, which is set to commence at 7 p.m., will be held under the theme, “Sports, a Catalyst for Socio- Economic Development Advancement”.