Posted on

Kesrick Williams snapped up by St Lucia Stars  for CPL 2018

Kesrick Williams snapped up by St Lucia Stars  for CPL 2018


After making a name with the Jamaica Tallawahs in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), for the past two years, Vincentian medium-fast bowler Kesrick Williams has gone to the camp of the St Lucia Stars for this year’s edition.

Williams, who in 2016 was selected as part of the Tallawahs’ roster, did not disappoint during his debut CPL outing.

As a matter of fact, Williams helped Tallawahs to the title with some incisive bowling, as he was their leading wicket-taker and the third overall, with 17 scalps.

His exploits for the Tallawahs earned him a selection to the West Indies team as a replacement for Andre Russell.

Williams followed up in the 2017 edition of the CPL to scalp 11 wickets for the Tallawahs.

But it will not be Williams alone who has moved from the Tallawahs, as Lendl Simmons and Odean Smith have also moved to the camp of the St Lucia Stars.

Another big move to the St Lucia Stars is the much sought after Kieron Pollard, who switches from the Barbados Tridents.

The rest of the St Lucia Stars who were named in the auction that took place in London, England, last Thursday are D’Arcy Short, Darren Sammy, Rumman Raees, Andre Fletcher, Mitch Mc Clenaghan, Niroshan Dickwella, Rakheem Cornwall, Qais Ahmad, Kavem Hodge, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Dasun Shanaka, Chris Lamont, Obed McCoy and Jaskaran Malhotra.

The 2018 CPL, which is the sixth instalment, opens August 8, with the final set for September 16.

The Trinbago Knight Riders won last year’s CPL.