Posted on

Novice snatch TBPO Softball Cricket title from Simple Boyz

Novice snatch TBPO Softball Cricket title from Simple Boyz


CGM Gallagher Novice were crowned 2017 champions of the National Lotteries Authority Top Belair Progressive Organization’s 20/20 Softball Cricket Competition.

Novice, previous multiple winners of the competition, with the last achieved in 2012, beat defending champion Gairy’s Construction Simple Boyz by 29 runs on Sunday at the Dauphine Playing Field, when the final was contested.

Novice scored 120/9 from their 20 overs; Newborne Joseph made 54.

Eldon Morris had 4/17 and Jabari Cunningham 3/18, bowling for Simple Boyz.

In response, Simple Boyz were dismissed for 91 in 18.1 overs; Nicos Davis top scored with 26.

Simple Boyz’ batting was undone by Rolando Wright, who picked off 3 for 23, Vennardo Primus 2/5 and Casmond Walters 2/12.

It was Novice’s first visit to the final since 2013, when they were then beaten by Simple Boyz.

That triumph sparked a four-year reign for Simple Boyz, who were stopped from making it five years in a row.

In the third place play-off, which preceded the final, Nice Radio Clinchers registered a 41-run win over Challengers.

Clinchers posted 170/ 8 in 20 overs, batting first. Romano Pierre struck 90 and Okeiph Andrews, 36 not out.

Kerwyne Browne took 3/24, Keithlyn Williams – 3/26 and Keno Matthews, 2/23.

Challengers’ response stopped at 129 all out in 19.2 overs. Javil Harry made 47, and Manley Duncan, 24.

Romano Pierre completed a good all-round effort, taking 3/18; Donaldson Harry had 2/12, Roger Gibson 2/16 and Rajiv Roberts 2/33.

Novice earned $3,000; Simple Boyz – $1,500, while third placed Clinchers got $750 and fourth placed Challengers – $500.

Sion Hill Tallawahs won the knockout competition, staged on the opening day of the competition.

Second was Smart Strikers.

Country Meet Town Outa Trouble Family and Challengers were the two losing semi-finalists.(RT)