Posted on

North Leeward Predators take national First Division football title

North Leeward Predators take national First  Division football title


North Leeward Predators took first place honours in the First Division of the National Club Championships, by defeating Petro Caribe Largo Height last Sunday in the final played at the Chili Playing Field, Georgetown.

Diel Spring put North Leeward Predators ahead in the first half, but his item was cancelled out by Nicholas Ollivierre, who equalized for Largo Height in the second period.

The deadlock remained that way at the end of regulation time. Ten minutes of extra time did not change the scoreline, hence the outcome had to be determined by kicks from the penalty spot.

The first five kicks saw both teams converting all, extending the drama to sudden death. Both teams created more nerves, as they missed their first. North Leeward Predators scored their second, but Largo Height failed in their attempt, thus handing the title to North Leeward Predators.

After coming through the preliminary round undefeated, Predators swamped DESCO 11-0 in the round of 16 and had a 2-0 win over Bruce Law Chambers FC in the quarter-finals.

Predators downed Owia 3-0 in the semi-finals, to set up the showdown with Largo Height.

On the other hand, Largo Height’s tale, following the preliminary phase, saw them having to resort to kicks from the penalty spot to overcome RSVG Police in the round of 16.

A one-nil win over Sharpes 09 in the quarterfinals and a 2-1 ousting of Je Belle in the semis, put them through to the final.

By virtue of making it to the First Division final, North Leeward Predators and Largo Height have earned promotion to the Premier Division of the 2018 National Club Championships.

They will take the places to the two outfits which finish in the 11th and 12th places of the 2017 Premiership, which is set for completion after national Carnival celebrations.

Also yet to be decided in the National Club Championships are the U-11, U-15 and U-19s competitions.

System Three has won the Women’s Division.