Posted on

CADO holds softball competition prize- giving ceremony

CADO holds softball competition prize- giving ceremony


The top performers of the 2016/2017 Calliaqua Area Development Organization’s (CAD0) Softball Cricket Competition, were last Tuesday night presented with their awards at a ceremony at the Calliaqua hard court.

Among the individual awards were CGM Novice’s Norlan Williams, the Top Wicket-Taker, with 15 wickets, while Elton Williams, also of Novice, was Leading Run Scorer, with 160 runs.

Taking the Player of the Final award was Country Meets Town Outa Trouble’s Wesrick Straugh, who also copped the Best All-rounder trophy. Straugh scored 140 runs and took 12 wickets.

Taking the most wickets in an innings was Gustas Garrick of Bamboo Blade, who grabbed 6 for 25 versus Old Trafford.

Elvis King of Bamboo Blade took the lone hat-trick in the competition, while parliamentary representative for East St George Camillo Gonsalves, who represented Masters, scored the first half century in the competition.

Bamboo Blade’s Aje Bruce was the youngest player in the competition, at the age of 13 years.

Dr Thomas Injectors won the Most Disciplined Team award.

The organizers also rewarded Deloris Antoine for her dedication to sports in the community.

For winning the competition, Outa Trouble received the Dougans Associates trophy and $2,500, with second place Dr Thomas Injectors getting $1,500 and the Big Tiger Auto Parts trophy.

Third place Novice got $1,000 and the Food Basket trophy, while fourth place Glen United secured $500 and the Ali’s Garage trophy.

Eleven teams participated in the competition.

Speaking at the ceremony, chair of CADO Foster Hannibald spoke of the many challenges which his organization faced.

He stressed the protracted competition, which he said was a result of his organization giving “leeway” to teams which participate in other softball cricket competitions.

Hannibald noted that come 2017, there will be no such leeway and the competition will have a duration of three months.

Despite the hiccups, Hannibald underscored: “Without a major sponsor, we are able to pay prize monies, although only four of the 11 teams paid their registration and still we did not throw any of them out.”

Hannibald thanked the donors, all from the East St George area and singled out Jimmy Pierre and Richard Payne, whom he noted were towers of strength when things got tough.

Hannibald, along with parliamentary representative for East St George Camillo Gonsalves and director of Physical Education and Sports Nelson Hillocks, all indicated that the 2017 edition will be “bigger and better.”