Posted on

Rivals top cricket Premier Division

Rivals top cricket Premier Division


Rivals are the 2012 National Lotteries Premier Division Cricket champions of the national cricket programme.{{more}}

The title was formalised on the weekend, with a first innings win over the 2011 champions, Victors One, at the Arnos Vale Playing Field.

Rivals went into the match already assured of the title, but made sure that they ended on a high note.

Victors One was dismissed for 129, batting first. Donwell Hector scored 46 and Miles Bascombe 38.

Olanzo Jackson grabbed 4 for 53; Casmond Walters, 2 for 19; and Deighton Butler, 2 for 37.

In reply, Rivals declared at 232 for 9. Marvin Small led the way with 64, while Recarvo Williams hit 61.

When the match was called off at teatime on Sunday, Victors One was 173 for 4. Atticus Browne had struck 62 and Miles Bascombe made 54.

Recarvo Williams took 2 for 40.

And, in the other premier division fixture played at the Arnos Vale Two Playing Field, The News Spartans gained first innings over Saints in another drawn match.

Spartans batted first and posted 171. Kissinger Mc Lean 57 and Micah Joseph 55 were the lead batsmen. Kenroy Peters snared 6 for 32 and Kentish Jacobs had 3 for 34, bowling for Saints.

But Saints’ batting did not click, as their innings ended at 129 all out. Joelano Neil was the topscorer with 24. Bowling for Spartans, Teran Simon picked up 4 for 28 and Nixon Mc Lean 2 for 21.

At the point of the captains calling it a day, Spartans, batting a second time, were 77 for 4, with Kissinger Mc Lean on 36.

Romario Bibby took 2 for 17, as the premier division competition retired until 2013. (RT)